It Wouldn’t Have Made Any Difference

I was listening to the OST of the highly acclaimed rock film Almost Famous because I wanted to listen to Something In The Air and I came across this Todd Rundgren classic. I was not a fan of this guy as he figured in a media exchange with John Lennon in the early 70s. john was at his most acerbic period. Besides, he is/was ideologically conservative I understand being a Republican. But music is music and you can’t just dismiss the great music one makes because of his political affiliation.

Listen to this classic song with Darryl Hall of the famed duo Hall & Oates.

“It Wouldn’t Have Made Any Difference”

(Ooh, ooh, ooh)

Do you remember the last time I said
If I ever thought of lying
I’d rather think of dying instead?
And maybe you remember

The last time you called me
To say we were through
How it took a million tears
Just to prove they all were for you
But those days are through

‘Cause it wouldn’t have made any difference
If you loved me
How could you love me
When it wouldn’t really make any difference
If you really loved me
You just didn’t love me, ’cause

I know of hundreds of times I could be
In the most unfaithful arms
That you always picture me
And maybe you remember that

Though I can’t always show proof I was true
No one else could change my mind
Or stop me coming home to you
But those days are through

‘Cause it wouldn’t have made any difference
If you loved me
How could you love me
When it wouldn’t really make any difference
If you really loved me
You just didn’t love me

Enough to believe me
Enough not to leave me
Enough not to look for a reason to be
Unhappy with me
And make me regret ever wanting you
But those days are through

‘Cause it wouldn’t have made any difference
If you loved me
How could you love me
When it wouldn’t really make any difference
If you really loved me
You just did not love me

‘Cause it wouldn’t have made any difference
If you loved me
How could you love me
When it wouldn’t really make any difference
If you really loved me
You just did not love me

Another gem rendered by Todd and Darryl perfectly, Didn’t I (Blow Your Mind This Time) by the Delfonics.

I gave my heart and soul to you, girl
Now didn’t I do it, baby….didn’t I do it baby
Gave you the love you never knew, girl, oh
Didn’t I do it, baby…didn’t I do it baby

I’ve cried so many times and that’s no lie
It seems to make you laugh each time I cry

Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I
Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I
Yes sir

I thought that heart of yours was true, girl
Now, didn’t I think it baby…didn’t I think it baby
But this time I’m really leavin’ you girl…oh
Hope you know it baby…hope you know it baby

Ten times or more, yes, I’ve walked out that door
Get this into your head, there’ll be no more

Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I
Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I
Yes sir

(Didn’t I do it baby…didn’t I do it baby)
(Didn’t I do it baby…didn’t I do it baby)

Ten times or more, yes, I’ve walked out that door
Get this into your head, there’ll be no more

Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I (oh..)
Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I (Hoo..)
Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I (Did I blow your mind, baby)
Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I (Can’t you see)
Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I (Did I blow your mind)
Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I (Ooh baby, ooh)

Girl, can we talk for a second
I know it’s been a long time
Since some someone’s blown your mind, like I did
There’ll be other times, for me and you
And I can see the tears fallin’ from your eyes

Tell me girl, did I blow your mind

Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I (Did I blow your mind baby)
Didn’t I blow your mind this time, didn’t I (Ooh, ooh , ooh, ooh, ooh,
ooh, ooh)

Leave a Reply

