Drift Away

A classic song covered by a legion of artists, sort of anthemic. I wanted to feature Dobie Gray, but I came across the live version of Bruce Springsteen in 2014 in Hanover, Germany. I decided to look for more live versions of it. Bon Jovi’s is audio-only live and he talks so long, so it doesn’t make the grade here. I chose Sherryl Crow’s audio-only version instead. But Bruce’s rendition demonstrated his musicianship.

Uncle Kracker revived the song for the 21st century music lovers (quite successfully I think). Here’s his live version. Very faithful to the original essentially, but not a few fans of the song consider his recorded and released version to be the best.

Now it’s Sherryl Crow with Semisonic on my birthday in 1999. It’s an audio-only, I couldn’t find another one.

 

 

Leave a Reply

