Watch “Pink Floyd – The Early Years 1965-1972” on YouTube

I never got to really appreciate Pink Floyd in their early years as a band. My introduction to them came in the period of The Wall when I was in high school. Then its follow-through, The Final Cut in 1983, the last album the group did with Roger Waters. In fact, I liked its politics better than The Wall’s.

In the 1990s I got to like A Momentary Lapse of Reason and the double live album without Roger Waters called Delicate Sound of Thunder. But I would in the late 1990s go back to the early- to mid-1970s period of the band and would discover Dark Side of the Moon, Wish You Were Here albums.

Never really got to their early years until I watched BBCs Pink Floyd, The Beginnings: 1967-1972. I think this is an accompanying pronotion to the band’s 27-CD boxset release scheduled this November 11 and preorders are valued at $550. Staggering!

Might settle for the 2-CD package!

