Bob Dylan turns to Great American Songbook

Bob Dylan - Triplicate (album cover).jpeg…for the third time. As he began this kind of project back in 2015. This album is one day old from where I sit released just yesterday, March 31, 2017.

Dylan: I am finding these great songs to be a tremendous source of inspiration that has led me to one of my most satisfying periods in the studio. I’ve hit upon new ways to uncover and interpret these songs that are right in line with the best recordings of my own songs, and my band and I really seemed to hit our stride on every level with Triplicate. (Wiki)

The first single from this 38th studio album is I Could Have Told You. Pitchfork reviews it, which pretty sums up the whole three-disc album I listened to, the full 96 mins of it, as well:

Frank Sinatra’s “I Could Have Told You” is a late-night tale of heartbreak. On his new cover, Bob Dylan finds a simple sound for this simple song, making it ragged and lonely and distinctly his own. It’s just Dylan’s aged, whiskey-on-the-rocks voice, burbling over pedal steel, electric guitar, and upright bass; no drums, no overdubs. When Dylan first announced his plan to cover Sinatra on 2015’s Shadows in the Night, it might have seemed like another one of his weird heel turns—denying fans his Nobel-prizeworthy songwriting and highlighting his increasingly rough vocals. But with the announcement of the 30-song Triplicate—Dylan’s third album of pop standards in as many years—it’s clear that this isn’t a passing phase. Of course, his ability to transform old ideas with just his voice is not a newfound skill: it’s how he introduced himself to the world with the traditional folk songs of his 1962 debut. Like his best work, “I Could Have Told You” is the sound of an artist never content to let the past be past.

Track listing

Disc 1 – Til the Sun Goes Down
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. I Guess I’ll Have to Change My Plan Arthur Schwartz, Howard Dietz 2:27
2. The September of My Years Jimmy Van Heusen, Sammy Cahn 3:25
3. “I Could Have Told You” Carl Sigman, Jimmy Van Heusen 3:37
4. Once Upon a Time Charles Strouse, Lee Adams 3:37
5. Stormy Weather Harold Arlen, Ted Koehler 3:05
6. “This Nearly Was Mine” Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II 2:48
7. That Old Feeling Sammy Fain, Lew Brown 3:38
8. “It Gets Lonely Early” Van Heusen, Cahn 3:10
9. My One and Only Love Guy Wood, Robert Mellin 3:21
10. “Trade Winds” Ralph MacDonald 2:40
Total length: 31:48
Disc 2 – Devil Dolls
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Braggin'” Jimmy Shirl, Robert Marko, Henry Manners 2:44
2. As Time Goes By Herman Hupfeld 3:22
3. Imagination Van Heusen, Johnny Burke 2:34
4. How Deep Is the Ocean? Irving Berlin 3:23
5. P.S. I Love You Gordon Jenkins, Johnny Mercer 4:17
6. The Best Is Yet to Come Cy Coleman, Carolyn Leigh 2:57
7. But Beautiful Van Heusen, Burke 3:22
8. Here’s That Rainy Day Van Heusen, Burke 3:27
9. “Where Is the One?” Alec Wilder, Edwin Finckel 3:14
10. “There’s a Flaw in My Flue” Van Heusen, Burke 2:47
Total length: 32:07
Disc 3 – Comin’ Home Late
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. Day In, Day Out Rube Bloom, Mercer 3:01
2. “I Couldn’t Sleep a Wink Last Night” Harold Adamson, Jimmy McHugh 3:15
3. Sentimental Journey Les Brown, Ben Homer, Bud Green 3:11
4. Somewhere Along the Way Van Heusen, Sammy Gallop 3:18
5. When the World Was Young Philippe-Gérard, Angèle Vannier, Mercer 3:47
6. These Foolish Things Eric Maschwitz, Jack Strachey 4:11
7. You Go to My Head John Frederick Coots, Haven Gillespie 3:06
8. Stardust Hoagy Carmichael, Mitchell Parish 2:30
9. It’s Funny to Everyone But Me Jack Lawrence 2:38
10. Why Was I Born? Jerome Kern, Hammerstein II 2:50
Total length: 31:47

 

