Resistance Radio: The Man in the High Castle (2017)Various Artists

I don’t watch Man In The High Castle lately, because I hate betrayals. But there is betrayal anywhere big or small time. I’ll start the second season then.

This OST, which is barely two weeks old, is a brilliant compilation of songs and artists. I’m almost half way through the album and I love every song I hear. Wow! This is something. (PS. Done listening to the whole album and it’s Five Stars.

Andrew Vanwyngarden, Angel Olsen, Beck, Benjamin Booker, Big Search, Curtis Harding, Grandaddy, Karen O, Kelis, Kevin Morby, Maybird, Michael Kiwanuka, Norah Jones, Sam Cohen, Sharon Van Etten, The Shins & Waterstrider

Resistance Radio: The Man in the High Castle is the soundtrack to the Amazon Prime series, “The Man in High Castle”. The series, which is based on Philip K. Dick’s novel of the same name, is about what a dystopian future in which Germany and Japan won World War II would look like. The concept of the album is the songs which rebels in the show’s Neutral Zone would broadcast. It was produced and created by Danger Mouse and released on April 7, 2017. “The End of the World”, “Who’s Sory Now”, “Love Hurts”, “A Taste of Honey”, and “Spoonful” were released prior to the soundtrack’s release.

Track list:

 1.The End of the World by Sharon Van Etten. One of the best versions of this song that I have heard in years. I heard one last Sunday on the way back to Manila from Zambales; I found it boring. This one with Sharon’s vocals haunts.

2.Nature Boy by Andrew Vanwyngarden. A rocking version.

3.Can’t Help Falling In Love by Beck.. Beck singing this one? A novelty

4.Spoonful by Benjamin Booker. Blues in bloom

5.The House of the Rising Sun by Sam Cohen. Sam Cohen brought the focus back on the lyrics away from vocals as Eric Burdon’s very popular version did.

6.A Taste of Honey by The Shins. The Shins gave this an almost traditional folk song treatment in spite of the lyrics.

7.Who’s Sorry Now by Angel Olsen. Faithful to the original.

8.Speaking of Happiness by Waterstrider. I could mistake this for a James Bond theme in one of the 60s episodes.

9.Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child by Michael Kiwanuka. Haunting!

10.Love Hurts by Grandaddy. This is a copy of the Everly Brothers’ rendition, which is much gentler than Nazareth’s painful take on the song. It makes the song accessible to those with limited voice range as well.

11.Lonely Mound of Clay by Big Search. A cool country song.

12.I Only Have Eyes For You by Kevin Morby. Melancholic. Desperate. Disparate

13.Who’s Lovin’ You by Kelis. Motown music is back. I can almost hear Smokey Robinson’s voice and imagine him singing this.

14.Unchained Melody by Norah Jones. Whose new version of this song you would not be shortchanged by? Norah Jones’s, of course. She cannot do anything wrong with retro songs. A touch of country music. Imagine Demi Moore singing this in the most touching scene in The Ghost.

15.Lead Me On by Curtis Harding. Gospel.

16.All Alone Am I by Maybird. In the period style.

17.Living in a Trance by Karen O. Feeling in a trance in a country slide guitar.

18.Get Happy by Sam Cohen. An original gospel song turned into a rockabilly song.

Some reviews/comments from https://www.amazon.com/Resistance-Radio-High-Castle-Album/dp/B06XBVSSK7 practically echo my own. Thumbs up!

on April 12, 2017

I bought this immediately when I saw the song/band list. Mistake. I should have listened to the sound bytes first. I could only get through about half of it. Great music to slit your wrists by. Some seriously depressing stuff here.

on April 16, 2017

There’s a decent chance you won’t like this album. I didn’t like it at first listen either. Then the genius of it hit me: of course the songs are melancholic given the nature of the parallel universe that produced them! This is a highly synchronous soundtrack for the amazing show that is The Man In The High Castle. The songs sound like they were recorded during the time period, and actually I enjoy listening to them best with my mono Echo speaker. There is a nearly constant undercurrent of oppression here, but also the defiance and steadfastness that defines the American spirit. Masterfully done!

on April 7, 2017

As one who knows this music by the original artists, I have to say this is outstanding. Well done!

on April 12, 2017

The soundtrack “Resistance Radio: The Man In The High Castle Album” is pretty good. This is a pretty good soundtrack with a pretty good collection of songs in it. It is solid, well-done and decently entertaining. All (18) tracks on here are pretty good.

